Tobacco Region Revitalization Commission Executive Committee Meeting Roanoke Higher Education Center, 108 N. Jefferson Street, Roanoke, VA May 8, 2025, at 12:00 p.m. Minutes

Committee Members Present

Delegate James W. Morefield, Chair Senator Lashrecse Aird (remote) Mr. Edward Blevins Ms. Amanda Cox Delegate Thomas Garrett, Jr.

Committee Members Absent

Senator L. Louise Lucas

Other Commissioners Present Ms. Gretchen Clark Secretary Stephen Cummings

<u>Staff</u>

Honorable James Campos, Director Mr. Stephen Versen, Deputy Director Mr. Warren Bryson Mr. Jordan Butler Ms. Sarah Capps Ms. Adrian Chapman

Senator T. Travis Hackworth (remote) Delegate Terry Kilgore Delegate Danny Marshall (remote) Honorable William Pace (remote) Mr. Walter "Buddy" Shelton (remote)

Secretary Matthew Lohr Mr. Hampton Wilkins

Ms. Stephanie Kim Ms. Suzette Patterson Mr. Jerry Silva Ms. Roz Stein Ms. Emily Van Pelt Ms. Sara Williams

<u>Counsel</u>

Ms. Elizabeth Myers, Assistant Attorney General

<u>Guests</u>

Deputy Secretary Maggie Beal

Deputy Secretary Jason Powell

As the committee waited for the arrival of a member to achieve a quorum, those in attendance received the following: a presentation on the City of Danville's Regional Marketing Project for the Virginia 250th American Revolution; information about the relationship between TRRC and VIPC from Director Campos; and a presentation on the proposed FY 2026 budget from Finance Director Kim; the latter was paused for the start of the meeting.

Chairman Morefield called the meeting to order at 12:41 p.m.

Executive Director Campos called roll and determined that a quorum was present. Per TRRC Electronic Meeting Policy, "for purposes of determining whether a quorum is physically assembled, an individual member who is approved to use remote participation because of a personal disability... will count toward the quorum as if the individual was physically present." Therefore, Commissioner Marshall's remote participation counts toward the quorum.

Deputy Director Versen read into the record the remote participation policy.

Commissioner Garrett moved to approve the remote participation of Commissioners Aird, Hackworth, Marshall, Pace, and Shelton; Commissioner Blevins seconded; all present voted to approve the motion.

Kim continued with the budget presentation (available online), which proposed: No corpus invasion; \$8M for Regional Economic Development; \$7M for Energy Ingenuity Fund; \$1M for Agribusiness; \$3M for Housing; \$10M for Rural Investment Accelerator Fund; and \$2.9M in administrative costs, which includes the addition of a five-year contract for IT services.

Kilgore moved to authorize the Executive Director to enter into a five-year contract for agency IT Services not to exceed \$35,000 per year; Commissioner Cox seconded; all voted to approve the motion.

Kilgore moved that this Executive Committee approve the FY2026 proposed budget as presented with zero corpus invasion; Cox seconded; all voted to approve the motion.

Morefield called for the approval of the minutes from November 25, 2024, (available on the TRRC website). Cox moved to approve the minutes; Kilgore seconded; all members present voted to approve.

Morefield provided opportunity for public comment. Mr. Brandon Scearce expressed his frustration with the inability to get Tobacco Commission assistance for the health clinic that he and his wife own in Halifax County, a locality that he says has had a shortage of health professionals for forty years. He stated that the Commission's move to defer all health-related funding decisions to the Virginia Department of Health does nothing to further primary care in rural Virginia. He also expressed his concern with the fact that the Committee voted on the proposed budget before allowing for public comment.

Morefield thanked Mr. Scearce and clarified that the vote was not to adopt the proposed budget, but rather to bring the budget before the full Commission at the Spring meeting for approval and adoption. He added that, although supporting health care-related projects is not currently part of the Tobacco Commission's strategic plan, several Commissioners would like to add health care as a Commission focus.

Kilgore moved that the Committee go in to a closed meeting in accordance with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. The purpose of this closed session is to discuss ongoing, sensitive economic development projects. The subject of this closed session is for the discussion of potential Commission Loans and Grants. The applicable exemption from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act is § 2.2-3711(A)(39); Cox seconded; all voted through a roll-call vote to approve the motion.

| Commissioner | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Absent |
|--------------|--------------|-----|---------|--------|
| Morefield | \checkmark | | | |
| Aird | \checkmark | | | |
| Blevins | \checkmark | | | |
| Cox | \checkmark | | | |
| Garrett | \checkmark | | | |
| Hackworth | \checkmark | | | |
| Kilgore | \checkmark | | | |
| Lucas | | | | ✓ |
| Marshall | \checkmark | | | |
| Pace | \checkmark | | | |
| Shelton | | | | ✓ |

The meeting went in to closed session.

Kilgore moved that the Committee vote on and record its certification that, to the best of each member's knowledge, only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter and only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed, or considered in the closed meeting; Commissioner Pace seconded; all voted through a roll-call vote to approve the motion.

| Commissioner | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Absent |
|--------------|--------------|-----|---------|--------------|
| Morefield | \checkmark | | | |
| Aird | \checkmark | | | |
| Blevins | \checkmark | | | |
| Cox | \checkmark | | | |
| Garrett | \checkmark | | | |
| Hackworth | \checkmark | | | |
| Kilgore | \checkmark | | | |
| Lucas | | | | ✓ |
| Marshall | \checkmark | | | |
| Pace | \checkmark | | | |
| Shelton | | | | \checkmark |

There was no other business.

Kilgore motioned to adjourn; Cox seconded; all voted to approve.

Morefield adjourned the meeting at 2:00 p.m.