Virginia Tobacco Region Revitalization Commission Energy Ingenuity Committee Meeting The MET, Patrick & Henry Community College 67 Motorsports Drive, Martinsville, Virginia 23112 Wednesday, October 25, 2024 3:00 p.m.

Commissioners Present

Delegate Thomas A. Garrett, Jr., Chair

Senator Lashrecse D. Aird, Vice-Chair (Remote)

Delegate Jed Arnold

Mr. Jay D. Jennings (Remote)

Delegate Terry G. Kilgore

Delegate Daniel Marshall, III

Ms. Amanda Cox

Delegate James W. Morefield

Mr. Watt R. Foster, Jr.

Delegate Israel D. O'Quinn

Senator T. Travis Hackworth (Remote)

Commissioners Absent

Mr. Arthur "Dale" Moore

Staff

Honorable James Campos
Mr. Stephen Versen
Mr. Jordan Butler
Mr. Jordan Butler
Mr. Jerry Silva
Ms. Adrian Chapman
Ms. Roz Stein
Ms. Hannah Franke-Fuller
Ms. Sara Williams

Counsel for the Commission

Ms. Elizabeth Myers, Assistant Attorney General

Guests

Mr. Jason Grey, Utilities Director, City of Danville

Mr. Ricky Elder, Director of Development, Lightshift Energy

Mr. Jason May, Town Manager, Richlands

Mr. Wes Jurey, Founder and CEO, Agricultural Technology Innovation Partnership Foundation

Mr. Eric Barger, Founder and Chairman, BargerTech

Mr. Matt Rowe, Director of Economic Development, Pittsylvania County

Committee Chair Garrett opened the meeting at 3:00 p.m. Director Campos called roll.

Commissioner Foster moved to approve the remote participation of Commissioners Aird, Hackworth, and Jennings; Commissioner Morefield seconded the motion; all members voted to approve the motion.

Foster moved to approve the minutes from the previous Energy Committee meeting on May 21, 2024; Commissioner Marshall seconded the motion; all members voted to approve the motion.

The meeting was opened to public comment, and there was none.

Campos gave an overview of the necessity and value that the Tobacco Commission's energy funding could have for the regions in the footprint.

Garrett led the Committee through Energy Catalyst Planning Grant projects 4262 and 4281, and the Committee discussed project 4262.

Garrett moved to follow staff recommendation for project 4262; Morefield seconded; all members present voted to approve the motion.

Commissioner Arnold moved to follow staff recommendations for project 4281; Foster seconded the motion; all members present voted to approve the motion.

Garrett led the Committee through Energy Execution Implementation Grant projects 4287, 4261, 4284, 4260/4285, 4283, 4282, and 4286. Mr. Jason Grey and Mr. Ricky Elder presented on behalf of project 4284, and the Committee discussed the project.

Garrett moved to follow staff recommendation for projects 4287 and 4261; Commissioner Cox seconded; all members present voted to approve the motion.

Marshall moved to follow the staff recommendation for project 4284; Arnold seconded the motion; Cox abstained from voting; all other members present voted to approve the motion.

Mr. Jason May presented on behalf of project 4285, and the Committee discussed the project.

Commissioner Hackworth moved to follow staff recommendation for project 4285; Morefield seconded the motion; Cox abstained from voting; all other members present voted to approve the motion.

Garrett moved to follow staff recommendation for project 4283; Foster seconded the motion; all members present voted to approve the motion.

Garrett moved to follow staff recommendation for project 4282; Kilgore seconded the motion; all members present voted to approve the motion.

Mr. Jurey and Mr. Barger presented on behalf of project 4286. The Committee discussed the project. Kilgore motioned to follow staff recommendation for project 4286; O'Quinn seconded the motion; all members present voted to approve the motion.

Mr. Rowe presented information about a brand new data center project that will be officially submitted to the next Energy Grant round. The Committee discussed the next steps on moving forward with this project, but no action was taken at this meeting.

Garrett adjourned the meeting at 5:04 p.m.