Virginia Tobacco Region Revitalization Commission Southwest Virginia Committee Meeting Inn at Wise, 110 East Main Street, Wise, Virginia May 21, 2024 12:00 p.m. Meeting Minutes

Commissioners Present

Delegate James W. Morefield, Chair Secretary Matthew Lohr
Senator T. Travis Hackworth, Vice Chair Delegate Israel D. O'Quinn

Delegate Jonathan E. Arnold Honorable William A. Pace (Remote)

Mr. Edward "Ed" Blevins Senator Todd E. Pillion

Ms. Gretchen Clark Sandy Ratliff

Ms. Amanda Cox Mrs. Sarah L. Wilson

Delegate Terry G. Kilgore

Staff

Honorable Director James Campos Mr. Jordan Butler Mr. Stephen Versen Mr. Jerry Silva

Ms. Stephanie Kim
Ms. Adrian Chapman
Ms. Vicki Humphreys
Ms. Emily Van Pelt

Ms. Sara Williams Ms. Hannah Franke-Fuller

Ms. Sarah Capps Ms. Roz Stein

Counsel for the Commission

Ms. Elizabeth Myers

Guests

Ms. Kim Davis, Executive Director, Friends of Southwest Virginia

Mr. Keith Harless, Town Manager, Pennington Gap, Virginia

Ms. Kathy Stewart, Main Street Manager, St. Paul Tomorrow, Inc.

Mr. Chris Wearmouth, Chairman, Tazewell Community Foundation

Southwest Committee Chair Morefield opened the meeting. Campos called roll. Ruff moved to approve Commissioner Pace's remote participation; Marshall seconded the motion; all members voted to approve.

Kilgore moved to approve the minutes from the previous Southwest Virginia Committee meeting on January 8, 2024; Blevins seconded the motion; all members voted to approve.

The meeting was opened to public comment, and there was none.

Williams provided an overview of and staff recommendations for Agribusiness projects 4153, 4238, 4236, 4243, 4240, and 4246. Lohr asked for further information on projects 4153 and 4236. Kilgore moved that the Committee vote to follow staff recommendations for the whole block of projects; Lohr seconded; all members present voted "aye."

Willams provided an overview of and staff recommendations for Business Development projects 4239, 4245, and 4233. Mr. Keith Harless, Pennington Gap Town Manager, spoke on behalf of project 4239. Ms. Kathy Stewart of St. Paul Tomorrow, Inc., spoke on behalf of project 4245. Hackworth is opposed to this project. Mr. Chris Wearmouth, Chairman of the Tazewell Community Foundation, spoke on behalf of project 4233. Kilgore moved that the Committee vote to follow staff recommendations for the whole block of projects; Cox seconded the motion; all members present voted "aye."

Williams provided an overview of and staff recommendations for Sites and Infrastructure projects 4189 and 4244. Hackworth moved that the Committee vote to follow staff recommendations for both projects; Pillion seconded; all members present voted "aye."

Williams provided an overview of and staff recommendations for Tourism projects 4232, 4235, 4241, 4242, 4234, and 4237. Project 4232 requested \$70,000; staff recommended no award but Committee members chose to award the full amount. Pillion made a motion to approve the award for 4232; Commissioner Hackworth seconded; all members present voted "aye." Ms. Kim Davis, Executive Director of Friends of Southwest Virginia, spoke on behalf of project 4235. Staff recommended awarding \$150,000 for project 4235; after discussion, Ratliff motioned to approve the full request of \$250,000; the motion was seconded; all members present voted "aye." Kilgore moved that the Committee vote to follow staff recommendations for all other Tourism projects; Lohr seconded the motion; all members present voted "aye."

Williams provided an overview of and staff recommendations for grant extensions for projects 3377 and 3530. Kilgore moved that the Committee vote to follow staff recommendations for both projects; Arnold seconded the motion; all members present voted "aye."

Campos welcomed new Commissioners, and he brought to the Commission's attention the onepage graph sheet detailing how Commission funds have been disbursed over the years. Morefield adjourned the meeting at 1:16 p.m.